It may seem like it shouldn't be any trouble to source vegan art supplies, but in fact there are many potential pitfalls that the vegan artist can stumble into. From pigments made with carmine and bone, to animal hair brushes, ox-gall watercolors, rabbit-skin glue and gelatin sizing, animal products find their way into the artists' world just as they do, [...]
Wait, what? Yes, you may be surprised to learn that the majority of condoms available on the market are produced using the animal product casein. Casein, a highly profitable byproduct of dairy farming, is the principal protein in milk, and it finds its way into all sorts of places one would never expect. Case in point… As [...]
Is your Champagne flute ready for Valentine's Day? If, like many others, you plan to celebrate with this bubbly celebratory drink, you should know that it may not be vegan. Also see: Is Your Alcohol Vegan? Bon Appetit explains that the base for Champagne is typically a dry wine made from Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Pinot Meunier, or a [...]
"The largest vegan grocery store on Earth" For Gentle World founders Light and Sun, a vegan supermarket was once a dream, when they would search in vain for delicious vegan food, way back in the seventies. Now that dream has come true, with a retail outlet located in Rancho Cucamonga, California, Viva La Vegan... A 100% vegan [...]
Is your makeup brush made with goat hair or synthetic bristles? Does your eye shadow have fish scales or mineral mica? There are many alternatives to cosmetics that use animal products, and many conscious companies are providing not only vegan lines, but organic and environmentally friendly choices as well.
Have you ever enjoyed a “naturally flavored” berry soda? Did you know that the delicious “natural” berry flavor could actually be made from a beaver’s sex gland secretions? This ingredient is technically called “castoreum”, but few (if any) companies put the proper name on their labels, instead simply calling it a “natural flavor”. Ingredients such [...]
Any processed food, including bread, is likely to have a block paragraph of polysyllabic ingredients printed on its packaging. From duck feathers to pancreatic enzymes, commercial bread provides a whole new collection of reasons for everyone to learn how to decipher an ingredients list.
A number of common foods are enriched with vitamin D without specifying which form of the vitamin they contain or how it was derived. And, as opaque as this may already seem, some companies that manufacture and distribute vitamin D supplements have demonstrably confused ideas of what the term vegan actually means.
Wool often tends to be overlooked by animal advocates because its cultivation does not necessitate the death of the animal. However, the cultivation of wool is far from the pastoral idyll one might imagine.
It’s time to learn about the byproducts in your organic fertilizers, and the truly green alternatives you’ll find in your own backyard, or on the garden store shelf.
Many people, vegan or not, are surprised to discover that there is a plethora of animal-based products that can be found in alcoholic beverages.
Many people may not be aware that the glaze that covers some of their favorite products – including vitamins, pharmaceuticals, candy and even some fruit – may actually be made from shellac; a resin from the secretions of the female lac insect. When used in food and confections, shellac has the food additive number E904, [...]