Is your Champagne flute ready for Valentine's Day? If, like many others, you plan to celebrate with this bubbly celebratory drink, you should know that it may not be vegan. Also see: Is Your Alcohol Vegan? Bon Appetit explains that the base for Champagne is typically a dry wine made from Pinot Noir, Chardonnay, Pinot Meunier, or a [...]
Is your makeup brush made with goat hair or synthetic bristles? Does your eye shadow have fish scales or mineral mica? There are many alternatives to cosmetics that use animal products, and many conscious companies are providing not only vegan lines, but organic and environmentally friendly choices as well.
Any processed food, including bread, is likely to have a block paragraph of polysyllabic ingredients printed on its packaging. From duck feathers to pancreatic enzymes, commercial bread provides a whole new collection of reasons for everyone to learn how to decipher an ingredients list.
Although the insect-derived carmine has been widely accepted as a ‘natural’ alternative to chemical dyes, it has recently received an increasing amount of public attention from squeamish consumers... Enter, Tomat-O-Red.
From a classic American Apple pie to our Tropical Mango Banana Pie, these simple, fun and raw Gentle World pie recipes put a new twist on both classic and exotic desserts.
A number of common foods are enriched with vitamin D without specifying which form of the vitamin they contain or how it was derived. And, as opaque as this may already seem, some companies that manufacture and distribute vitamin D supplements have demonstrably confused ideas of what the term vegan actually means.
Sugar seems vegan at a glance; it comes from a plant after all. But when the natural sugars from the plant are refined in a factory, they are often filtered through bone char.
Many people, vegan or not, are surprised to discover that there is a plethora of animal-based products that can be found in alcoholic beverages.
Animal fat: by any other name it would still be the same vile substance. Tallow, suet and lard are all well-known forms of this awful ingredient, but what about glycerin and glycerides, and what does it mean when a label lists ’stearic acid’ or ‘palmitic acid’?
Many consumers may not yet be aware that the red substance coloring their food, fabric, cosmetics or pharmaceuticals could be extracted from the crushed bodies of insects... Carminic acid is a substance found in high concentration in cochineal insects. It is extracted from the insect’s body and eggs and is mixed with aluminum or calcium salts to make carmine dye (also known as cochineal).
Seitan or Wheat-Meat (made from wheat gluten flour) is one of the best meat substitutes for flavor absorption as well as texture. High in protein and low in fat, seitan (when properly prepared) will win over the meat-oholics in your life, from kids to grown-ups.
Nutritional yeast is used frequently in many recipes, and makes a great condiment and seasoning, as it adds a delightfully ’savory’ flavor to everything from pasta and tofu to toast and popcorn. Not only does it do an amazing job of imitating the flavor of cheese – making it an essential ingredient for non-dairy cheese sauces and toppings – it is also nutritionally rich, and an excellent supplement for anyone concerned about their intake of B vitamins, and especially B12.